Rick’s last unpublished novel, WAITING, to be published in late 2017!

News from Holly!

Important news about Rick’s last unpublished novel, WAITING! A sold-out limited edition will be available from Cemetery Dance Publications this year, BUT – ebook and trade paperback editions will be published in October (of course) from Haverhill House Publishing! Afterword by Christopher Golden and cover art by Glenn Chadbourne, and an intro by Holly Newstein.

WAITING is a classic Rick Hautala book, with the claustrophobic, visceral creepiness that characterizes almost all his novels. More details to follow.

Audiobook edition of The White Room is now available!

white-room-audioCrossroad Press has released Rick Hautala’s The White Room, originally published under the pseudonym A.J. Matthews, as an audiobook narrated by Judy Pancoast. The audiobook is available from Audible now. It’ll be available from Amazon and iTunes within the next few days.

The White Room @ Audible


The old Harris house has been vacant for years.

A summer vacation in Milton, Maine, would be the best thing for Tim Harris, his wife, Polly, and their young son, Brian. Restoring Tim’s childhood home to its original splendor would help Polly restore her own life after a breakdown that left her fragile and afraid. But for Polly, it’s the beginning of new nightmare….

This summer it’s coming to life.

Human bones are discovered in a nearby construction site. Brian nearly drowns while playing with a mysterious new playmate. Polly hears whispers no one else can hear. She sees a young girl no one else can see. And Polly’s been warned. Something else lives in the Harris house. It’s long dead but not forgotten. And it’s not forgiving.

In the dark at the top of the stairs, it’s waiting, in the white room.

Realms of Night remembers Rick

There’s a nice writeup/remembrance of Rick over on Christopher Fulbright’s Realms of Night site.


Impulse ebook is available now!

impulseNow available in digital format, Impulse, the last of Rick Hautala’s novels originally published under the Zebra and Pinnacle imprints of Kensington books.

Coming soon to digital are the four books published under Rick’s pen name AJ Matthews!

Purchase Impulse from Amazon


Shades of Night ebook is available now!

Shades of NightRick Hautala’s Shades of Night is now available as an ebook from Crossroad Press!

Purchase from Amazon

Purchase from B&N



From the moment she and Vincent move into their new home in Maine, Lara DeSalvo is tormented by killer migraines and eerie visions: a young woman with a pale face and glowing eyes who warns of an unnameable danger … her mother, damning her soul from beyond the grave … a looming, shadowy man pursuing her through rooms she’s never set foot in before.

Even her husband seems to change from her passionate lover into someone unnervingly different yet terrifyingly familiar. Now Lara will discover the true meaning of terror as a buried secret comes to light … a shattering final truth that will turn reality-bright day into blood-red shades of darkest night.

Twilight Time ebook from Crossroad Press

Twilight Time coverCrossroad Press is releasing an ebook edition of Rick Hautala’s Twilight Time. The ebook should be available for purchase on August 4, 2015.

Purchase from Amazon

Rick Hautala ebooks at Smashwords

Rick Hautala ebooks at Amazon

Rick Hautala ebooks at Crossroad Press


Jeff Wagner has come home to Maine.

HOME … where, years ago, unspeakable fear and abuse ruled his life.
HOME … where Jeff and his sister sought secret, sinful refuge in each other’s arms.
HOME … where Jeff’s brother Jeremy was terrified out of his life …
HOME … where shattering violence splintered Jeff’s mind into multiple personalities—each one scarier and more dangerous than the next.

Now Jeff is about to open the door that has been closed for so long … about to walk into the living, breathing embodiment of all his childhood fears …

Glimpses ebook only $.99 at Amazon for a limited time!

GLIMPSESGlimpses, a career-spanning story collection from Rick Hautala, is only 99 cents at Amazon for a Limited Time!

This illustrated ebook edition includes all 8 interior illustrations from artist Glenn Chadbourne.

HWA Lifetime Achievement Award Winner Rick Hautala’s writing career spans more than three decades. Glimpses, a “best of” collection, brings together twenty-four stories—quick glimpses into the deepest shadows of our lives, around unfamiliar corners of streets we think we know, and down the darkest alleys of strange cities where readers will have to face their worst fears and their most unnerving nightmares.

So whether it’s in a haunted schoolhouse or an abandoned lighthouse, an iron bridge that spans a fast-moving river or a World War I battlefield, prepare yourself because you never know what you may catch a glimpse of … and by then, it may already be too late.



New blog review of Dark Silence

10480554_898246783524288_4408984674836456806_oThe blog Mika Reads Horror Fiction has a new review of Rick’s 1992 novel Dark Silence, available now in ebook formats!

You can read the review here.

Dark Silence for Kindle

Dark Silence for NOOK

Dark Silence at SmashWords

Free Fear the Reaper ebook with story by Rick Hautala

fear-the-reaperThe Kindle edition of Crystal Lake Publishing’s anthology Fear the Reaper is currently free on Amazon US.

The anthology of tales was published in 2013 and includes “Non-Returnable,” a story by Rick Hautala! The book is edited by Joe Mynhardt and also includes stories by Jeff Strand, Joe McKinney, Gary Braunbeck, and others. You can buy Fear the Reaper in paperback and Kindle formats from Amazon.

“Non-Returnable” was previously published in the 2002 anthology Shelf Life, published by Dream Haven Books.

Editor Joe Mynhardt blogged about Fear the Reaper.

Cemetery Dance #72 includes an interview with Rick

_cd072largeIssue 72 of Cemetery Dance magazine has just been shipped to subscribers. Among many other features, it includes “The Zebra Interviews: Rick Hautala, Ronald Kelly, and C. Dean Andersson” by Christopher Fulbright, a look inside the horror boom.

Pre-order Cemetery Dance #72 from Cemetery Dance